ROBOTC.net forums
http://robotc.net/forums/

RobotC Windows 10 and license questions
http://robotc.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=11427
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Koenigsegg1525 [ Thu Jun 04, 2015 2:37 pm ]
Post subject:  RobotC Windows 10 and license questions

Hello,
I'm really impatient for the release of windows 10 and I'd like to install it as soon as I can but I've got two questions about it: Will the RobotC IDE be compatible with it the day it's released and how do I get my current license key working on my next os for the time remaining (will I have to buy another key or just re-introducing the key on the IDE I'll have installed on windows 10 will solve the problem )???????

Author:  mightor [ Thu Jun 04, 2015 2:40 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC Windows 10 and license questions

We have not done any testing with Windows 10 yet. I am sure if you can just upgrade your OS without a complete reinstall, the license will simply continue to work. I can't see a reason why it wouldn't. That said, we haven't done any testing with that scenario, but I am sure we will once the RTM becomes available on MSDN.

= Xander

Author:  mightor [ Thu Jun 04, 2015 3:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC Windows 10 and license questions

I just checked and it's only the Insider Preview right now (build 10074) that I can download from MSDN. I am downloading the iso, but I have no idea how stable or representative it is of the final product.

= Xander

Author:  mightor [ Fri Jun 05, 2015 1:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC Windows 10 and license questions

Just a little update. I installed and updated the Windows Insider version of Windows 10 Pro and it's now at build 10130. ROBOTC 4.30 seems to work fine with the EV3 and NXT.

Please note that this is not an official statement of support, I just did this in my spare time :)

= Xander

PS: if you want to try this in a VMware Workstation 11 VM, be sure to set the USB hub in the VM settings to USB 2.0, not 3.0, that won't work.

Author:  Koenigsegg1525 [ Sun Jun 07, 2015 3:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC Windows 10 and license questions

Thank you so much for your answer and the time you've taken to answer my question. I will try it since the new build mustn't be so far from the final product but if I suddenly have to reinstall everything, is there anything I can do about my license ?

Author:  mightor [ Mon Jun 08, 2015 3:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: RobotC Windows 10 and license questions

Depending on the license, you can deactivate it through the License Management utility. You can access it through Help->Manage Licenses. When it's deactivated, you can simply reactivate it when you're done reinstalling everything.

= Xander

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/