View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:03 pm

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Robot-enabling my appartment- IR vs GPS vs ??? 
Rookie

Post Robot-enabling my appartment- IR vs GPS vs ???
Hi guys,

Im working on a robot that does some practical things. My strategy is to adapt the environment to the robot when needed.

I want my robot to interact with objects in my small one bedroom appartment. Its 600 square feet, one floor. Example, picking up a cup and bringing it to me, finding me in my room, picking up clothes on the floor and putting them in the closet.

I will need the robot to find and identify many small objects, and while i have saved cash, cost is a factor since if every item has an IR beam, that can get expensive with 50 objects.

Also, development time is a factor.. I work full time as a programmer so id rather invest in a quicker-to-implement solution and save 10 hours of work than use a cheaper solution that makes this project impractical time wise.

So, question 1: whats the best way of navigating between 5 spots in my place? Im think of IR vs GPS. With IR, i could put many IR sensors with different frequncies around the place so the robot can go where it needs to. Ex, one near my bed, one in the blacklisted_site, and then using general obstacle avoidance it gets there.
GPS seems easier, but ill need it to be accurate to at least a foot. I hear theres ones accurate to a cm. That would
be fantastic, but maybe IR is easier with the available packages?

Question 2: best method for finding small objects. Ex.. I have a cup with a handle built for the robots grip. But i need to find that object and know how to align the robot to grip it.
I also would like to tag all my clothes. Yes its nerdy but I think its possible with a small room and the current level of technology.