View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 1:01 pm

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Teaching Tips 
Rookie

Post Teaching Tips
Hi,

I am a high school student and will be running a lunchtime robotics club where we plan to use RobotC virtual worlds alongside 2 real robots to teach 13-16 year old students through the RobotC curriculum.

I was wondering if anyone had any tips for this, what works and what doesn't,

Thanks.

Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:16 pm

Post Re: Teaching Tips
Senior Project? If so, great idea.

First thing you want to do is handle your logistics. Make sure you have everything organized. Are you going to give the students headphones to watch the videos? Do all the computers work consistently? Make sure you have those things taken care of. Next, figure out what you are going to do for the students that accelerate quickly and the ones that take some time with acquisition. RVW is a great way to handle this, so you are on your way. Last, make sure it is fun. Give them a reason to come back.

Fri Mar 15, 2013 6:14 am
Rookie

Thanks parkway for those tips. (This is something I am just running because I love robotics and want it to become established in my school).

What are the resources that are associated with the RobotC curriculum?

The ones I know about are the robotC software and RVW level packs and the teaching guide available from the robotC website. Also the cs2n site and the program it has.

Are there any other resources for the RobotC curriculum?
And out of the above ones, do they work well together, which are the most helpful?

Thanks

Sat Mar 16, 2013 11:53 pm

I have a number of tutorials on my site: http://botbench.com/blog/category/tutorials/

= Xander

| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]

Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:32 am
Profile WWW

CodaCoda wrote:
Thanks parkway for those tips. (This is something I am just running because I love robotics and want it to become established in my school).