View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sun Aug 09, 2020 8:12 am






Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2? 
Author Message
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:06 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Margraten, The Netherlands
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
Hi Xander,

Ok, I will. Thanks for your help so far! :bigthumb:

Gr. Kees


Sun Aug 31, 2014 1:45 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:39 am
Posts: 38
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
Now that 4.26 is released should we use the firmware and RobotC VM that Xander posted here or should we rely on the 4.26 download page


Tue Sep 02, 2014 10:26 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3654
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
If you downloaded 4.26 before Tuesday, you should redownload and install it. If you downloaded 4.26 on Tuesday then you're good to go :)

=Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Tue Sep 09, 2014 10:36 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 8:07 pm
Posts: 5
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
I too have the problem where my HiTechnic Infrared Seeker (IR Sensor) does not work on my EV3 which has FW ver 1.06X.
When looking at the screen, looking at port view, S1 comes up as "UNKNOWN".

We had an older EV3, with FW 1.06H, and it talks to the IR Sensor. So I downgraded my EV3 FW from 1.06X to 1.06H, and now I can talk to the sensor. But now I can't communicate with ROBOTC ver 4.26!

I will take the suggestion to re-download and upgrade the FW back to 1.06X and see what happens...


Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:34 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 8:07 pm
Posts: 5
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
So after testing this for 45 mins, here is what I know:

FW ver 1.06X will not talk to the IR Sensor (HiTechnic Infrared Seeker) on my EV3. No debug data. The only error I get is on the EV3 screen, and all it says is "UNKNOWN" for that sensor slot. (yes I changed ports)

FW ver 1.06H DOES work, and with the LEGO Mindstorms EV3 software, I can get output from the IR Sensor, so I know the sensor is good.

But ver 1.06H on my EV3 does not work with ROBOTC ver 4.26.

1. Is there a FW in between H and X that I can downgrade to that will allow me to use ROBOTC ver 4.26?

2. Am I missing something? <--- very honest question, as I have been doing this for only 2 weeks.

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks.


Mon Sep 15, 2014 5:27 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3654
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
The X firmware allows you to use ROBOTC, the H does not. The X stands for "eXtended" :) It is based on the same source code that the H one is based on, with some additions, of course. "H" stands for Home and the "E" stands for Education. H and E are made by LEGO, X is made by Robomatter/NI. They should all provide the same basic functionality.

Do you have a program that can demonstrate this issue? Do you think you could mail all this info to support@robotc.net?

Thanks!

= Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Tue Sep 16, 2014 12:32 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 8:07 pm
Posts: 5
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
Thanks for the quick reply.

OK, so I must use X firmware to allow RobotC to talk to my EV3.
Is there an older version I can downgrade to? Maybe 1.05X?

I don't have a program to test yet, because my EV3, with 1.06X, does not recognize the IR Sensor (HiTechnic Infrared Seeker v2), in the ports menu, listing it as "UNKNOWN". I planned on using the debug values to create a program, but there are none being generated.

When I upload just a blank program, just to get the debug screens open, I see no input from the sensor on that port.

The odd thing is that 1.06H talks to the sensor just fine.

Who created the fw 1.06X? Maybe I need to talk to them?


Tue Sep 16, 2014 10:28 am
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3654
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
There is no 1.05X. Robomatter/NI created 1.06X, I was one of the main contributors :)

Did you send a mail to support@robotc.net?

= Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:11 am
Profile WWW
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:06 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Margraten, The Netherlands
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
Today I ran a test with RobotC 4.27. Problem with IR-sensor still doesn't seem to be solved. The only thing that 's changed is that port S1 behaves the same as the other ports. Using the testprogram of Xander gives the following results on all ports (S1 to S4): first run works fine, second run sensor turns into proximity mode instead of seeker mode, third run everything is fine (sensor in seeker mode as supposed), fourth run sensor in proximity mode again, and so on and on (so: odd runs everything is fine, even runs program doesn't work).


Sun Nov 09, 2014 4:02 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3654
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
Did you change the Linux firmware as well as upgrade the VM?

= Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Mon Nov 10, 2014 12:39 am
Profile WWW
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:06 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Margraten, The Netherlands
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
Yes, I updated both the Lego EV3 Linux Kernel and the firmware from within RobotC as explained in your installation instructions on this forum.


Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:54 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3654
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
This bug is very interesting, I can confirm it at least. I'll see if I can get to the bottom of this today :)

= Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:13 am
Profile WWW
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3654
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
Good news, I fixed it in the internal build :)

The problem was in the prolog (the bit of the ROBOTC program that is generated from the pragmas). It called a function that set the sensor type, quickly followed by a function that sets the mode. On the EV3, this causes two sensor resets in quick succession, which leads to, well, unreliable results. The new prolog now sets both in one go and this seems to have solved the problem.

I can't give you a test version of this VM because it also relies on some additional functionality that I am tinkering with (not related to this).

Regards,
Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Tue Nov 11, 2014 3:55 am
Profile WWW
Rookie
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2014 4:06 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Margraten, The Netherlands
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
Hi Xander,

I'm glad you found the cause of this problem.

Gr. Kees


Tue Nov 11, 2014 4:02 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3654
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: RobotC 4.25 - IR Sensor restricted to port 2?
I wish all bugs were this easy to fix!

= Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Tue Nov 11, 2014 4:25 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.