ROBOTC.net forums
http://robotc.net/forums/

Set-up of VEX LCD screen
http://robotc.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=4521
Page 1 of 1

Author:  vexmche123 [ Fri May 11, 2012 7:37 am ]
Post subject:  Set-up of VEX LCD screen

I was trying to set up the VEX LCD screen with my PIC VEX robot. I have the RX, plugged into the RX on the Microcontroller and the TX plugged into the TX on the mircocontroller, but I cannot get the display to work. Is there something in ROBOTC I have to select to let the Mircocontroller know the LCD screen is there? Or am I just setting this up wrong?

Author:  jbflot [ Fri May 11, 2012 9:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Set-up of VEX LCD screen

That's all that you should need to do to get it to work. What are you trying to display to the screen? Your problem may be in your code - can you post it on the forum?

Author:  vexmche123 [ Fri May 11, 2012 1:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Set-up of VEX LCD screen

Well, that’s probably because I don’t really understand the code for this stuff, but here's what I tried.

task main()
{
displayLCDCenteredString(0, "Hello World");
wait1Msec(300000);
}//end main


thanks

Author:  jbflot [ Fri May 11, 2012 1:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Set-up of VEX LCD screen

The only problem I had with your code is that the largest number you can use on the PIC is ~32000. Othwerwise it displayed Hello World on the screen just fine. What version of ROBOTC are you using?

Author:  vexmche123 [ Mon May 14, 2012 12:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Set-up of VEX LCD screen

Ok, its working now, I dont know what I was doing wrong before. I may have I had the cords mixed up when I was tinkering before. Tanks for the help.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/