View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Nov 22, 2019 11:34 am

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Encoder program won't stop when it's supposed to 
Rookie

Post Encoder program won't stop when it's supposed to
I am new to teaching ROBOTC, so I am sorry if this question is silly. A student of mine wrote a program that's meant to use shaft encoders to control distance. He wrote and successfully compiled the program. However, when he downloaded it to the robot, the program ran and ran without stopping. I can't seem to spot the error because I'm new at this as well. I've included his program below. Any help would be greatly appreciated :-)

task main ()
{
SensorValue[rightEncoder] = 0;
SensorValue[leftEncoder} = 0;

while(SensorValue[rightEncoder] < 687)
{
motor[rightMotor] = 63;
motor[leftMotor] = 63;
}

}

Wed Oct 08, 2014 2:58 pm
Expert

Post Re: Encoder program won't stop when it's supposed to
There are a couple things that could be going on here:
1) It is possible that the encoder count is decreasing instead of increasing.
2) The commands to shut the motors off needs to be added before the last brace.
Good luck

Thu Oct 09, 2014 12:19 pm
Rookie

Thanks for your answer! I had thought about your first suggestion, but if the robot is moving forward, shouldn't the numbers count up? Also, I didn't think you had to program the motors to stop. I thought they would stop on their own once the value of the encoder was reached.

Thu Oct 09, 2014 12:38 pm
Rookie

Also, as a matter of style, it's not necessary to keep setting the motor[] values inside the while loop. You'll typically want to turn the motors on once, then wait for the encoder, then turn the motors off. Like this:
Code:
motor[rightMotor] = 63;
motor[leftMotor] = 63;

while(SensorValue[rightEncoder] < 687)
{
}

motor[rightMotor] = 0;
motor[leftMotor] = 0;

Terry

Thu Oct 09, 2014 12:41 pm
Rookie

aeichelberger wrote: