ROBOTC.net forums
http://robotc.net/forums/

Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board
http://robotc.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=10316
Page 1 of 1

Author:  vale [ Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:40 am ]
Post subject:  Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board

Hi,

I just got the Hitechnic Prototype Board, and for some reason none of the digital outputs or analogue inputs work. I am trying the first experiment in the HiTechnic SuperPro Experimenters Kit Handbook.

I am using RobotC, and when I run Xander's program made for the first experiment ( the program that is part of his driver suite ), the NXT displays a value of -1 for port A0. I have checked the circuit multiple times, and everything is as it is supposed to be for the experiment.

Here is the code from the program:
Code:
#pragma config(Sensor, S1,     HTPB,                sensorI2CCustom9V)
//*!!Code automatically generated by 'ROBOTC' configuration wizard               !!*//

/*
 * $Id: hitechnic-protoboard-exp1.c 133 2013-03-10 15:15:38Z xander $
 */

/**
 * hitechnic-protoboard.h provides an API for the HiTechnic Protoboard.  This is program 1
 * for the HTPB experimenter's kit.
 *
 * Changelog:
 * - 0.1: Initial release
 * - 0.2: Removed common.h from includes
 *
 * Credits:
 * - Big thanks to HiTechnic for providing me with the hardware necessary to write and test this.
 *
 * License: You may use this code as you wish, provided you give credit where it's due.
 *
 * THIS CODE WILL ONLY WORK WITH ROBOTC VERSION 3.59 AND HIGHER.
 * Xander Soldaat (xander_at_botbench.com)
 * 14 February 2011
 * version 0.2
 */

#include "drivers/hitechnic-protoboard.h"

task main() {
  // Local variables
  int inputdata;

  // The data to be written: 0x3F = 111111 binary,
  // makes all digital ports outputs.
  HTPBsetupIO(HTPB, 0x3F);

  while(true) {
    // Read a 10bit wide analogue value from A0
    inputdata = HTPBreadADC(HTPB, 0, 10);
    eraseDisplay();
    nxtDisplayTextLine(1, "%d", inputdata);

    // If A0 is less than 50% of the max value
    // turn off the LED, otherwise switch it on
    if(inputdata < 512)
      HTPBwriteIO(HTPB, 0x00);
    else
      HTPBwriteIO(HTPB, 0x01);

    wait1Msec(50);
  }
}

/*
 * $Id: hitechnic-protoboard-exp1.c 133 2013-03-10 15:15:38Z xander $
 */


Any ideas as to why this is happening?

Author:  mightor [ Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board

Hi there,

Which version of ROBOTC are you using? It should be 4.28, if not, get it here: http://www.robotc.net/blog/2014/12/23/r ... 4-28-beta/
Did you download the latest version of the Driver Suite from the Git repo? If not, get it here: https://github.com/botbench/robotcdriversuite

Thanks!

= Xander

Author:  vale [ Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board

I am using the newest version of RobotC 3.6X and not the newest version of the git repo. I will update the repo and try again, thanks!

Thanks,
Vale

Author:  mightor [ Wed Jan 21, 2015 10:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board

I am sorry, but I am no longer actively supporting ROBOTC 3.x for my Driver Suite. You should use the latest release version of the Driver Suite, which you can get here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/rdparty ... rs/V3.3.1/. It is the last known-to-be-working release of the suite that works with ROBOTC 3.x.

I have converted most of my code to ROBOTC 4.x, any bug fixes that have happened between 3.3.1 and what's in Github now will not be included.

= Xander

Author:  vale [ Wed Jan 21, 2015 11:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board

I just updated robotc to version 4.17 and I got the new driver suite, but the issue still persists. I am getting a value of -1 on the NXT screen.

Also, I am unable to turn on a digital port. If I make the port the LED is on turn on ( B0 ), the LED still doesn't light up. I know I am getting power though because when I connect the resistor in front of the LED to 3.3V, the LED lights up.

Is this a common problem?

Thanks,
Vale

Author:  mightor [ Thu Jan 22, 2015 1:53 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board

4.17 is not the latest version of ROBOTC. Is there a reason you're not using ROBOTC 4.28? You can download that here: http://www.robotc.net/blog/2014/12/23/r ... 4-28-beta/

= Xander

Author:  vale [ Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board

Sorry, I have now updated to RobotC 4.28 Beta. Sadly though, the problem is still there.

Author:  vale [ Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board

So, after a lot more fiddling around, I got the super pro board to work with SPC ( Super-Pro C ).

Still not working with RobotC 4.28 though........

Author:  vale [ Mon Feb 02, 2015 10:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Problems with Hitechnic Super Prototype Board

Anyone have any ideas?

I still cannot get it to work with RobotC, but SPC seems to work. Support is limited though and SPC cannot be used in the FTC competition, so it is not that useful to me......

Thanks,
Vale

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/