View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 3:20 pm






Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Port splitting 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 2:40 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Bradford (Leedsford)
Post Port splitting
Hello all

Im trying to use two colour sensors in the same port. I bought a port splitter (Split-NX) from active-robotics (http://www.active-robots.com/products/m ... t-nx.shtml).

It says that to split a port:

"In your program, accessing the sensor is based on it's I2C address, (each sensor must have unique I2C address). Attach the port splitter to NXT on any port (say port 1).
In your program, use the respective sensor's icon (or API as the case may be), and for the parameters, use the port of the port splitter (port 1 in above example) and I2C address of the attached sensor from which you wish to take a reading."

I have no idea how to change the I2C address of a port and even if I can work out how to do that, how do I then define 2 different colour sensors off 1 port using robotC.

Please help....Andy

_________________
Old skool BBoy, New Fire Crew!!!!!


Thu Apr 02, 2009 8:39 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3162
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Port splitting
Andy,

Which colour sensor are you using? The one from HT?

Regards,
Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Thu Apr 02, 2009 8:49 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 2:40 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Bradford (Leedsford)
Post Re: Port splitting
Yes it is. Its the HiTechnic (NCO 1038) NXT Colour Sensor.

_________________
Old skool BBoy, New Fire Crew!!!!!


Thu Apr 02, 2009 8:53 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3162
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Port splitting
Andy,

As far as I know, they cannot have their address changed. You could share the connection with an analogue sensor or a home brew sensor that uses a different address.

Regards,
Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Thu Apr 02, 2009 8:58 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 2:40 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Bradford (Leedsford)
Post Re: Port splitting
Is it possible for a LEGO default analogue light sensor and HT digital color sensor to share a port?

_________________
Old skool BBoy, New Fire Crew!!!!!


Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:05 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3162
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Port splitting
yes it should be. One is analogue and the other is I2C.

Regards,
Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:09 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 2:40 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Bradford (Leedsford)
Post Re: Port splitting
The problem is that on the website it says the split-NX doenst support analogue sensors but it says it does support using a single ultrasonic sensor (which I thought was an analogue sensor). Does this mean that I can or cant use a single analogue light sensor and a single colour sensor through the same port.

_________________
Old skool BBoy, New Fire Crew!!!!!


Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:17 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3162
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: Port splitting
It doesn't support multiple analogue sensors. It should support one analogue and up to 2 I2C sensors with different addresses. That is, unless, they didn't wire the analogue signal wire through. I don't know for sure because I don't own one. Try to make it work with a light sensor attached and nothing else. If it works then you know that it's wired through :)

Regards,
Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:20 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.