ROBOTC.net forums
http://robotc.net/forums/

Using the IR Beacon/Seeker
http://robotc.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=10034
Page 2 of 2

Author:  MHTS [ Fri Dec 19, 2014 8:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using the IR Beacon/Seeker

akash329dsouza wrote:
Yes thats correct. We have PID enabled in the Motor&Sensor Setup. But the motor[MotorA] command uses PID control we think. We use that command and even on 1 power it will drive up the ramp with a 30 pound robot

You mean motor[left] = 1 and motor[right] = 1 will drive the robot up the ramp?! I don't think that's possible. You must have something else in the code.

Author:  akash329dsouza [ Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Using the IR Beacon/Seeker

Well we just tested it. It definitely uses PID control in the normal Motor[motorA] Commands in the program. It was going much slower with the same commands when we enabled PID

Author:  MHTS [ Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using the IR Beacon/Seeker

I need to see your code. If PID is engaged, you must have enabled it by doing something like syncAB, EncoderTarget etc.

Author:  akash329dsouza [ Sat Dec 20, 2014 1:04 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using the IR Beacon/Seeker

We tested it in our Gyro PID thread. It was the same code and we took PID off and it went a lot fastee and when we turned it back on it went slower and a lot more precise speed.

Author:  MHTS [ Sat Dec 20, 2014 2:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using the IR Beacon/Seeker

akash329dsouza wrote:
We tested it in our Gyro PID thread. It was the same code and we took PID off and it went a lot fastee and when we turned it back on it went slower and a lot more precise speed.

I looked at the code in the Gyro PID thread. The code just go straight forever using the gyro. There is no stop nor any RobotC built-in PID control nor any code to back up. However, your code does do your own PID for travelling straight. In that case, you need to turn off RobotC's built-in PID just to make sure the built-in PID is not interfering with your own PID.

Author:  akash329dsouza [ Sat Dec 20, 2014 10:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Using the IR Beacon/Seeker

Ok yeah that's what we tried yesterday and the robot was still arcing. Also it seemed like that used PID because when we turned it off we had to adjust the motor values because it was going to fast. Do you have any idea why that code would make it arc?

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/