View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Sep 16, 2014 7:28 am






Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Can we turn Servo Off? 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 3:07 pm
Posts: 45
Post Can we turn Servo Off?
Is is possible to turn a Servo connected to the FTC Servo Controller OFF?

i.e. by OFF, I mean limp - like it is when your program isn't running.

Thanks in Advance,
David Fort
Team 1001


Thu Jan 01, 2009 2:36 pm
Profile
Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 7:58 pm
Posts: 79
Post Re: Can we turn Servo Off?
This is my understanding, someone please correct me if this is wrong.

When you set a value in the code it is a *power level*. So basically when the controller is unplugged, the power is 0, and then it is plugged in, if you set the power to 0, you should receive the same effect.


Fri Jan 02, 2009 8:20 pm
Profile
Professor

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 1:22 am
Posts: 200
Post Re: Can we turn Servo Off?
Sorry Sunny, you didn't understand his question. He isn't talking about motors. He is talking about the Servos and HiTechnic servo controller that comes with the FTC kit. As far as I know there is no way to disable or "turn off" a servo port. It would certainly be a nice feature.

_________________
Jeff McBride
Benson Robotics Club


Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:01 pm
Profile
Novice

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 7:58 pm
Posts: 79
Post Re: Can we turn Servo Off?
Ah, sorry. I mis understood, Servos are not assigned power levels, but are assigned positions.

My mistake.


Sun Jan 04, 2009 3:52 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.