ROBOTC.net forums
http://robotc.net/forums/

Encoders not reading in RobotC 3.50
http://robotc.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=52&t=4847
Page 1 of 1

Author:  TimTheMagi [ Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Encoders not reading in RobotC 3.50

Hi. I've been having trouble with reading encoder counts after I updated from RobotC 3.08 to 3.50. My attached file worked with RobotC 3.08 but stopped working with RobotC 3.50. After updating, I uninstalled RobotC 3.50 and re-installed RobotC 3.08 and the program started working again. Any help would be much appreciated!

Details:
With 3.50 driving with constant speed worked, but the encoders always read 0.

Attachments:
Moving with Encoders PID.zip [1.17 KiB]
Downloaded 696 times

Author:  oliver_ge [ Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Encoders not reading in RobotC 3.50

I experienced similar problems. I am new to RobotC. Spent a few days trying to figure out what's going on with my encoders. Looked at the encoder output from a scope and the waveforms looked fine. I added a debug line to display the encoder values on screen and the values are always "0". Finally asked another mentor to test the encoders with Labview and they worked fine.

A co-worked pointed out that the encoders were grayed out in "motors and Sensors setup" menu.

Attachments:
motors and sensors setup.png
motors and sensors setup.png [ 24.67 KiB | Viewed 9929 times ]

Author:  JohnWatson [ Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Encoders not reading in RobotC 3.50

The encoders for TETRIX DC motors are not being handled by ROBOTC properly. This is known issue and that it will be fixed in the next patch release, which will be out shortly. I will update this post once the fix goes live. The reason the encoder boxes are checked is because even without encoders hooked up to the Motor Controller, it passes a value to the NXT (in the case of no encoders being attached, a value of 0) for the encoder ports. The upcoming fix will also allow users to enable and disable the TETRIX motor encoders manually.

Thank you for the heads up on this bug.

Author:  TimTheMagi [ Fri Sep 21, 2012 8:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Encoders not reading in RobotC 3.50

Thanks for your help!

Author:  tfriez [ Sat Sep 22, 2012 8:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Encoders not reading in RobotC 3.50

This issue is resolved in ROBOTC 3.51!

Thanks!

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/