View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:59 pm

Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
New to robotics and looking for a starting platform! 
Rookie

Post New to robotics and looking for a starting platform!
Greetings,

I am excited to register and new to this forum, and have some questions that maybe someone can lead or give me some advise. I am new to robotics, and would like to start a on a life venture on learning everything that I possibly can - of course with a salvageable resource. I do have a 25 years of experience as an rc enthusiast working with this off-the-shelf technology such as sensor gyros, servos, rx's, etc. Up until here, with the tx programming and calibration I have knowledge but outside of this into robotics - I am lost.

Finally, I am looking to find a product platform that would allow be to perhaps build a perhaps a walking robot or spider. I am looking for product that also has other add-on capabilities, such as adding a wireless camera, adding a motion sensor, etc. The idea is that I want to have a unit that I can build on and not hit a brick wall too soon. If anyone has any suggestions, please send them my way and I would greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Futura

Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:37 am

Post Re: New to robotics and looking for a starting platform!
The arduino platform is definitely a great place to start. There's lots of documentation, and lots of ready-made hardware as well. All of the things that you mentioned sound very possible with this platform. There's a big support community out there (and now the ROBOTC community has joined in as well), so you'll have lots of help if you do "hit a brick wall".

Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:28 am
Rookie

futura wrote:
Finally, I am looking to find a product platform that would allow be to perhaps build a perhaps a walking robot or spider.

Here is a youtube video of a walking arduino. There are many more out there.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PhilcBqF6iM