View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 2:27 am






Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Thrustmaster Joystick Won't Show Up 
Author Message
Site Admin
Site Admin

Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 12:05 pm
Posts: 7
Post Thrustmaster Joystick Won't Show Up
My joystick won't show up on ROBOTC. I'm running windows 7 and the joystick is a THRUSTMASTER.

Original Question Posted on Twitter


Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:43 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:34 am
Posts: 10
Post Re: Thrustmaster Joystick Won't Show Up
My saitek joystick won't show up either. (Hubby let me borrow his gaming joystick.) I keep getting an error that says: Encountered an improper argument.

I'm running Win7 64 bit. And ahve the 6/10 version of the robotC software from the course. The software says it's the 3.61 version.

I'm close to section 10 and will need to be able to use a joystick soon.

Any help would be appreciated! ;)


Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:14 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 11:35 am
Posts: 2
Post Re: Thrustmaster Joystick Won't Show Up
Hi Guys,

This page: http://www.robotc.net/wiki/Custom_Joystick_Controls will walk you through the process of configuring RobotC for whatever joystick you happen to own.


Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:08 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:34 am
Posts: 10
Post Re: Thrustmaster Joystick Won't Show Up
Interesting. Thanks for the info. It seems to work with the Custom Joystick Controls. Moving the joystick gives readings. So maybe the joystick will work with this when I hit section 10.

The problem I hit is when I try Robot->Nxt Brick->Joystick Control Basic. I get the "Encountered an improper argument." error.

____
Update: found the http://www.robotc.net/blog/2013/06/21/c ... -controls/ video and loaded the joystick program in operation reset. Not I can kind of drive it. Will have to see if we have a simpler joystick. But the custom joystick option works! ;) Thanks all!


Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:42 pm
Profile
Professor
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 1:24 pm
Posts: 272
Location: Olympia, WA
Post Re: Thrustmaster Joystick Won't Show Up
Had that problem a few days ago... Apparently it's a bug which is fixed in 3.61.1, which you can download here: http://www.robotc.net/download/nxt/index.php

I was never able to fix that problem, though, so I'm using 3.60 right now. Although that doesn't have the custom joystick stuff :(

_________________
FTC Team 6424, the 'Oly Cow - Chief programmer.
FRC Team 4450, Olympia Robotics Federation (ORF).

and also quadrotors. Quadrotors!


Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:39 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 10:34 am
Posts: 192
Post Re: Thrustmaster Joystick Won't Show Up
avlor wrote:
The problem I hit is when I try Robot->Nxt Brick->Joystick Control Basic. I get the "Encountered an improper argument." error.


Hi avlor,
I'm able to reproduce the error you're reporting. Instead of using Robot>>NXT Brick>>Joystick Control - Basic, try first compiling and downloading and then select Robot>>Debugger Windows>>Joystick Control - Basic.

Thanks,
--Ryan

_________________
Ryan Cahoon
CMU Robotics Academy
RVW Software Developer

Robot Potato Head; Virtual NXT


Last edited by rcahoon on Fri Jun 21, 2013 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.



Fri Jun 21, 2013 2:49 pm
Profile
Professor
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 1:24 pm
Posts: 272
Location: Olympia, WA
Post Re: Thrustmaster Joystick Won't Show Up
Is there a plan to fix this bug? I've always used the other version (in particular the entire FTC season).

_________________
FTC Team 6424, the 'Oly Cow - Chief programmer.
FRC Team 4450, Olympia Robotics Federation (ORF).

and also quadrotors. Quadrotors!


Fri Jun 21, 2013 4:51 pm
Profile
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 10:34 am
Posts: 192
Post Re: Thrustmaster Joystick Won't Show Up
Ernest3.14 wrote:
Is there a plan to fix this bug? I've always used the other version (in particular the entire FTC season).


Hi Ernest,
The version of the window launched using the NXT Brick menu only supports physical hardware, and does not work in emulator/Virtual World mode. The NXT Brick menu was supposed to be disabled in Virtual Worlds mode, but looks like this functionality isn't working. We'll see about fixing it in the next release.

Best,
--Ryan

_________________
Ryan Cahoon
CMU Robotics Academy
RVW Software Developer

Robot Potato Head; Virtual NXT


Fri Jun 21, 2013 5:43 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.