View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Dec 18, 2014 6:32 am






Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
dexter industries wifi sensor ? 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:40 pm
Posts: 12
Post dexter industries wifi sensor ?
Can anyone know where can i find the example of dexter industries wifi sensor ?


Wed Oct 17, 2012 2:01 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3297
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: dexter industries wifi sensor ?
Did you try the Dexter Industries website?

- Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Wed Oct 17, 2012 2:35 pm
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:40 pm
Posts: 12
Post Re: dexter industries wifi sensor ?
Hi Mightor
How are you.
I try the example you provided in the driver.
I work great.
But just wonder want to know can you let me know how to set a static IP on the wifi sensor.

Thx kevin


Tue Oct 23, 2012 6:43 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:33 pm
Posts: 10
Post Re: dexter industries wifi sensor ?
Hey Kevin,
Examples for the Dexter Industries WIFI sensor can be found here: http://dexterindustries.com/download.html#DIWIFI

And here: http://dexterindustries.com/blog/tag/wifi/

_________________
John Cole
Dexter Industries
http://www.dexterindustries.com
http://www.dexterindustries.com/blog
Image


Wed Oct 24, 2012 7:29 am
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:40 pm
Posts: 12
Post Re: dexter industries wifi sensor ?
Can you show me how to change the IP, mask and gateway for this sensor.

Thx kevin


Wed Oct 24, 2012 8:31 am
Profile
Expert

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:09 pm
Posts: 184
Location: Michigan USA
Post Re: dexter industries wifi sensor ?
I think static IP addresses usually (always?) need to be assigned by the DHCP host (usually the router).

_________________
Matt


Wed Oct 24, 2012 1:04 pm
Profile WWW
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 5:46 am
Posts: 1359
Post Re: dexter industries wifi sensor ?
mattallen37 wrote:
I think static IP addresses usually (always?) need to be assigned by the DHCP host (usually the router).

If it were assigned by DHCP, then it wouldn't be "static".


Wed Oct 24, 2012 1:44 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:33 pm
Posts: 10
Post Re: dexter industries wifi sensor ?
Kevin,

If I understand your question correctly, are you asking how you obtain an IP address? Or do you have a specific IP address that you want to set the wifi sensor to?

John

_________________
John Cole
Dexter Industries
http://www.dexterindustries.com
http://www.dexterindustries.com/blog
Image


Wed Oct 24, 2012 1:47 pm
Profile WWW
Expert

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:09 pm
Posts: 184
Location: Michigan USA
Post Re: dexter industries wifi sensor ?
MHTS wrote:
mattallen37 wrote:
I think static IP addresses usually (always?) need to be assigned by the DHCP host (usually the router).

If it were assigned by DHCP, then it wouldn't be "static".

Usually you can make certain devices always get assigned a specific IP (configurable through the DHCP host), so it is sort of static (it is always the same).

_________________
Matt


Wed Oct 24, 2012 2:08 pm
Profile WWW
Rookie

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:40 pm
Posts: 12
Post Re: dexter industries wifi sensor ?
What I want to do is set an static IP for the Wifi sensor for the code.
The reason why i want to do it is. I try to hook my robot in the office's wifi. But the router of my office will not assign any dynamic IP to the wifi device. So what we need to do is setup an static IP in every single machine.

Thx kevin


Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:06 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:33 pm
Posts: 10
Post Re: dexter industries wifi sensor ?
Aha, ok, I think I understand what you're getting at. It will require a little bit of work and some commands:

The command to statically configure the network parameters is

AT+NSET=<Src Address>,<Net-mask>,<Gateway>

Also, the DNS address can be set using AT+DNSSET (4.10.5).

More info can be found on p. 51 of the manual for the WIFI sensor.

Does this help?

_________________
John Cole
Dexter Industries
http://www.dexterindustries.com
http://www.dexterindustries.com/blog
Image


Thu Oct 25, 2012 9:20 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.