View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Nov 27, 2014 3:39 pm






Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
robotc for windows 8? 
Author Message
Rookie

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 12:07 pm
Posts: 4
Post robotc for windows 8?
i need to purchase a laptop on the cheap for 5 teams. does anyone know of any issues with windows 8? i found this at best buy and am leaning towards... all i need is internet and robotc as these will be used for robotics teams to practice, code and @ competitions.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/satellite-1 ... ab=reviews


Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:21 am
Profile
Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 5:46 am
Posts: 1347
Post Re: robotc for windows 8?
I installed RobotC on a couple of Windows 8 laptops. They all work fine.


Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:45 pm
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 12:05 am
Posts: 1
Post Re: robotc for windows 8?
no need to worry. Windows 8 works just fine with robotc.


Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:21 am
Profile
Rookie

Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2014 6:34 am
Posts: 1
Post Re: robotc for windows 8?
Win 8? with robotc? It's really functioning well.. you should try it.

http://ztheme.com/casinoblog/is-it-possible-to-win-pokies/


Last edited by israelnguyen on Fri Mar 21, 2014 1:10 am, edited 1 time in total.



Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:05 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:10 pm
Posts: 198
Location: The plateau north of the Ohio River Valley, also known as Cave Country.
Post Re: robotc for windows 8?
Windows 8 just for internet and robotc is not a problem, but in my opinion, Windows 8 is terrible. They hide all the low-level stuff behind a clumsy interface, and change navigation for no good reason.

_________________
I'm not a robot! I'm british! ~ quote from an asparagus
I am not a robot! I am a unicorn! ~ quote from a robot


Thu Mar 20, 2014 4:10 pm
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:14 am
Posts: 3293
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Post Re: robotc for windows 8?
I am a big fan of Windows 8's new start menu :) I have my stuff organised very neatly and it gives me fast access to everything I need without going through all the other stuff.

Attachment:
Start_menu_2014-03-21_11-07-09.png
Start_menu_2014-03-21_11-07-09.png [ 717.64 KiB | Viewed 1824 times ]


= Xander

_________________
| Professional Conduit of Reasonableness
| (Title bestowed upon on the 8th day of November, 2013)
| My Blog: I'd Rather Be Building Robots
| ROBOTC 3rd Party Driver Suite: [Project Page]


Fri Mar 21, 2014 6:13 am
Profile WWW
Moderator
Moderator

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:10 pm
Posts: 198
Location: The plateau north of the Ohio River Valley, also known as Cave Country.
Post Re: robotc for windows 8?
I'm glad it works for you :) The start menu isn't really the problem for me; it's the navigation to system stuff.

_________________
I'm not a robot! I'm british! ~ quote from an asparagus
I am not a robot! I am a unicorn! ~ quote from a robot


Fri Mar 21, 2014 2:06 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.